#SELFIE

Music Monday:

First, let me take a #SELFIE.

IMG_3241

Alright, now that that’s all taken care of we can get on with the post!  Call me “out of the loop” but for the first time ever I both heard the song Selfie and witnessed the affect it has on white girls at the bar.  The second the beat hit my eardrum I knew I was missing out on something fantastic because everyone’s hands immediately hit the sky and the awkward dancing bouncing began.  Catchy – yes; accurate – yes; a brilliant composition – I think not, but who am I to judge.

http://www.someecards.com/usercards/viewcard/MjAxMy04YTY1M2M2ODhjNjE2ZDAw

In my opinion, the “Selfie” has become a real art for active smartphone users, and I know from experience that capturing the perfect selfie takes lots of practice because of the angle, light, and proximity to the lens.  I personally love the selfie trend because I don’t like bothering others to take my picture, and this way I can take as many as I want (as frequently as I want) without having to call the amateur photographer back to when I’m not crazy about their work.  Selfies have revolutionized the world of apps, photo editing programs, and cell phones in general because now nearly every phone is equipped with a forward facing camera.  Even though some people still need to use a mirror apparently…

http://pagesay.com/5-things-you-need-to-know-right-now-about-the-chainsmokers-selfie/

The song #SELFIE is mostly an EDM song but it also features verses spoken by a narcissistic woman in the bathroom of a club.  I, like most other 20-something females, can highly relate to this song and I love that everyone has their own interpretation of the lyrics.  In a nutshell, Alexis Killacam is in the bathroom criticizing other club goers, explaining her love/hate relationship with a man named Jason, fixing her makeup (multiple times), and taking selfies to upload to Instagram.  Now, for those who are reading this post and are NOT active club goers, this pretty much happens on an hourly basis.   Also, let’s be real, the most difficult part about Instragram is finding the PERFECT filter (which is also addressed in this song).

http://www.pinterest.com/pin/96053404527443526/

Although #SELFIE has received many negative reviews, it hit the top of the charts in countries such as Finland, Sweden, Australia, Norway, and of course the United States.  Whether you love it or hate it, #Selfie by The Chainsmokers is all over social media right now.  In fact, some have compared it to the Harlem Shake, Valley Girl, or The Fox.  The Chainsmokers released #SELFIE four months ago today and stated the following in a recent interview:

“Honestly, “Selfie” is kind of a phenomenon for us. We made it and thought it was funny and put it out as an edit. Then Dim Mak wanted to buy it, and they bought it from us and put it out officially and we made a video for it. This was all just because we thought it was fun. And then the song just kind of took on a life of its own. Which is honestly really great because it’s brought in a new audience of people that listen to music that we’ve made that we’re more passionate about.”

http://www.29secrets.com/style/top-10-celebrity-selfies

Even though my first reaction to this song was “OMG what the heck is going on here?” due to the immediate arm waving, bouncing, spilling drinks, flashing iPhones, and smiles – my overall feeling at the end of the song was “Woah, that was kinda fun!”

Check out the Official Video below:

So, what’s your opinion?  Do you remember your first reaction to the song #SELFIE, and could you relate to the lyrics?

Also, here are some of MY recent selfies because, well, why not?! 😉